ICEHO is governed by an elected Board of Directors and the General Assembly of members. The General Assembly meets at least once every two years and at every World Congress of Environmental History. All current members are invited to have one voting representative attend the General Assembly.

The Board of Directors consists of Officers, Ordinary Members, and the Immediate Past President.

Officers (3 year term, 2016-2019 for President and Vice-President; 4 year term, 2017-2021 for Secretary and Treasurer):

  • Verena Winiwarter, President

  • Claudia Leal, Vice-President

  • Bo Poulsen, Secretary

  • Steven Anderson, Treasurer

Ordinary Members (3 year term, 2016-2019):

  • James Beattie (New Zealand)

  • Siddhartha Krishnan (India)

  • Alan MacEachern (Canada)

  • Mucha Musemwa (South Africa)

  • Daisy Onyige (Nigeria)

  • Shen Hou (China)

Immediate Past President and Bulletin Editor:

  • Libby Robin

ICEHO operates under Bylaws which were adopted in 2011

Candidates for Incoming ICEHO's Board of Directors

Elections for the incoming board will be held at ICEHO General Assembly at the World Environmental History Congress in Florianópolis, Brazil (June 22-28, 2019)

(Access to nomination documents by following the link on each name)

  • Stefan Dorondel: Institute of Anthropology, Academy of Social Sciences & Institute for Southeast European Studies, Bucharest, Romania

  • Eunice Sueli Nodari: History Department, Center of Philosophy and Humanity Sciences, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil

  • Fei Sheng: History Department, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, China & Deputy Director, Center for Oceania Studies, Ministry of Education, China

  • Graeme Wynn: Department of Geography, University of British Columbia Vancouver, Canada

  • Kathleen A. Brosnan: History Department, University of Oklahoma, United States

  • Katie Ritson: Rachel Carson Center for Environment & Society, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Munich, Germany 

  • Maurits Ertsen: Water Resources Management, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  • Muchaparara Musemwa: History Department & Head School of Social Sciences, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

  • Ravi Rajan: Environmental Studies Department, University of California Santa Cruz, United States

  • Ruth A. Morgan: History Program, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

  • Sandra Swart: History Department, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

  • Wilko Graf von Hardenberg: Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin, Germany

  • Wilson Picado Umaña: History Department, Universidad Nacional, Costa Rica

The ICEHO Logo

Our logo was generously created for ICEHO by Dr. Bjørn Laursen, associate professor in the Department of Communication and Humanities, Roskilde University, Denmark.

Professor Laursen is an acclaimed graphic designer, artist, and author. His most recent works include an interactive book that is being installed at The Viking Museum in Roskilde, and “The All Saints Night Lightening,” 2013-2015, in downtown Roskilde, which he developed in cooperation with light-artist Dr. Honoris Causa.

We are grateful for Professor Laursen's contributions.